19
Jun
09

Introducing Meela

Today’s Space Base 8 comic strip introduces one of the main characters, Meela. Along with Cargo, the crash test monkey, and Lighthouse, the robot (yet to be seen in the strip but previewed here), Meela was one of the first characters I came up with for the strip.

Here is a gallery of early concept sketches for Meela.

Her character design was fun, But the real surprises came when I started writing her into the storyline. As I write this blog, her story hasn’t been revealed in the comic strip yet, so I won’t give any spoilers. But I will tell you that I now understand what writers mean when they say their characters take on a life of their own and it is the characters who tell the writer what is going to happen, not the other way around.

Read the comic strip and find out what happens, and come back to the blog and read more about my process!

meela1

meela2

meela3

meela4

2 Responses to “Introducing Meela”


  1. June 28, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    I’m leaving a comment on this post because nobody has yet. That’s just the sort of standup guy I am.

    Nice to see your rough development stuff.

    Peace out.


Leave a Reply

