05
Apr
10

I Can’t Draw My Own Characters!

I just decided that I am drawing Meela wrong. I used to draw her nose low on her face, but have decided it looks better higher up. Early on, I had decided her mouth would also be high on her face, close to her glasses. No longer. Mouth lower is cuter.

There is an ongoing quest on my part to improve the design of my characters. Space Base 8, my comic strip, has been on the web now for ten months, and I am only just now starting to feel like I’m getting the hang of the look of the thing.

Cargo is a big problem. He is my main character, yet I am concerned that his design is not appealing enough. I would like him to be… cuter. He isn’t a cute character, but I really want him to be “better looking”. I hate drawing his body… the length of his arms and size of his hands, the proportion of his head to his body… this stuff all makes me crazy when I draw Cargo! I try to put him in dynamic poses while keeping his pose easy to understand, you know, “easy to read”, but this is so difficult. This is a problem animators have to solve all the time, and I do not envy them!

I have been drawing cartoons for as long as I can remember, and only writing jokes for about a year. So why does writing seem to come so much easier? Sometimes I actually dread drawing the strip. It must be because  I am afraid of hard work.

Guess it is time to take a break.

Leave a Reply

